La promenade de l’abbaye

1,000 years of history in 1 hour visit. The abbey promenade tells the story of daily life in Montivilliers in sixteen places in the shadow of its mighty Benedictine abbey. Near the emblematic monuments of the city, including the convent buildings, the visit circuit allows you to discover an urban heritage preserved over several eras: the remains of the city wall of the 14th century, a 16th century fountain, in the rue Cardot houses half-timbered and beautiful brick houses from the 19th century… as many witnesses to the glorious past of the so-called “city of the abbesses”.

At each stage an explanatory panel presents the history of the site illustrated by a comic strip in the manner of medieval illuminations.

See on Google Maps

La sente des rivières

Montivilliers is closely linked to the Lézarde river. There is also a Lizard depicting the river on the city’s coat of arms. Throughout its history, the city has taken advantage of its clear waters to develop its economic activities, starting with drapery and tanning. Thereafter, the mills will flower throughout its course transforming the valley by the digging of a second arm of the river. The milling activity is now at a standstill but the river has retained its two courses crossing the city.

From the city center, this walking path along the banks is the ideal setting for a family outing with bucolic charm. The local flora and fauna can be discovered along the route, as is the local history told by the remains of the old mills. The promenade is decorated with information panels on the natural resources that can be seen there.

See on Google Maps

Le chemin du fond de vallée

The walking path built in the former river bed, then wider, is an invitation to discover a preserved ecosystem. On foot or by bike, follow the reed beds, the edges of the pond and the marshy meadows where the local fauna flourishes. Near the pontoon of the pond, it is not uncommon to see newts, frogs and other notonects.

Connecting the downtown area to the commercial area, the trail reveals some unexpected discoveries, including a fountain closed by a grid. It is a source formerly reserved for the use of the St Gilles leper colony located above.

Further on, it is Picris and Flouve, the famous Scottish oxen that surprise visitors.

See on Google Maps

Le bois de Colmoulins

On the site of these woods were the gardens and the castle of Colmoulins built between 1782 and 1786 by the architect Pierre-Adrien Pâris for Stanislas Foâche, a wealthy merchant from Le Havre.

In the park and the woods were drawn perspectives and alleys playing on the different levels, the regularity of terraces and the irregularity of certain alleys: a “mixture of nature and art”. Paris, whose knowledge of botany is known, had himself chosen the different tree species, of which, unfortunately, we do not know the details. One can find, in the current wood some alignments and beautiful specimens of tall forest.

The promenade of remarkable trees set up in consultation with the National Office of Forests is decorated with botanical information panels highlighting their specificities.

Departure from the car park, chemin vicinal n°6

See on Google Maps